NaNoWriMo 2016

Ah! November! It’s almost here! Turkey! Dressing! Pie! Family Gatherings! And NaNoWriMo!

I’m excited about National Novel Writing Month. I’ve chosen which novel I will write. (I wrote out three ideas from which I could choose). I’m scrambling to finish the outline in time for the start of writing on November 01. At the same time, I’m doubtful I’ll be able to punch out 50,000 words on my keyboard. But there’s a reason why I’m contemplating a NaNoWriMo loss before it even begins: I’m doing NaNoWriMo differently this year.

Yesterday, I spent most of the day at Mount Vernon Jr. High School, pitching NaNoWriMo to every student in the school alongside Marissa Priddis, Director of the local Alexandrian Library. (She’s fabulous, by the way). It was awesome to see the enthusiasm of the students during and after our introduction of the program. Students came up to me after each pitch to tell me what they planned to write about. I even had a few approach me after school while I waited on the sidewalk to pick my daughter up. I’m hopeful that we’ll have a large group of young writers participating.

Now, the teachers are busy planning after-school write-ins, write-ins at the Alexandrian Library, write-ins at the riverfront, and maybe a few other places.

 

mt-vernon-riverside-park
Riverside Park, Mount Vernon, Indiana

 

I’ll be at as many write-ins for the students as I can attend but my purpose there will be to mentor and assist, not write. I’m in it for a win but, honestly, I’m more excited about what these young authors are going to write than my word count on November 30. I won NaNoWriMo last year with my Sci-Fi novel Rifted. This year, my focus will be on helping others win.

My personal writing project is book 4 of my fantasy series. My daughter read the first three and has demanded the next one.

NaNoWriMo, bring it on!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2016

Leave a Reply

