The Business Side

I love to write. There are, in fact, few things I would rather do than write.  At the same time, my goal for writing is to get published. Yes, I could probably write stories for the rest of my life and be happy, but I’ve discovered the joy of sharing my stories with others. That’s important to me, too.

A few weeks ago, my eleven-year-old daughter grabbed the editing copy of my latest novel, The Sign of Psyche, when I wasn’t looking. She started reading and wouldn’t give it back. Within three days, she had devoured all 86,800 words. I think she was a little surprised she liked it.

wp_20160914_007

The next week, she read three books of my YA fantasy series. She blasted through 320,000 words in seven days. As the author of those books, it felt like the best kind of validation. This kid is a reader who set the school record for Accelerated Reading points (641.6!) in 5th grade.

I had planned to participate in NaNoWriMo this November. Now, however, I think I’ll focus on the other side of writing: the business side. I have five complete novels sitting on my computer. They’re revised and ready to query. Writing a sixth while the others sit won’t help me get published.

As much as I love to write, I also want to share my stories. That means I need to get down to business. It means researching literary agents and writing query letters. It feels a little less exciting than crafting new stories, but it could lead to the most exciting thing of all: representation and eventual publication.

I have six queries out at the moment. So I’ll cross my fingers and hope some of those agents shows interest in my query. In the meantime, I’ll research a few more and get ready for another round.

~Christopher

Leave a Reply

